DEMF 2011: Movement Detroit Electronic Music Festival Adds to Lineup

More headlining artists have been added to Movement, Detroit Electronic Music Festival (DEMF) 2011 lineup. Most notable for myself and crew are the addition of Berghain resident, Ostgut Ton regular, Klockworks label boss, and in demand remixer Ben Klock. It’s also good to see Traversable Wormhole live at the festival. This is a project from long-time Sonic Groove label and record store owner, and brother to Brooklyn’s own Frankie Bones, Adam-X. 2010-2011 has been a great time for Adam-X. Traversable Wormhole gained much respect in the global techno community while it was still a mystery to who the producer was. Once the cat was outta the bag Adam finally started to see some much needed respect himself. Chris Liebing ended up re-released the entire Traversable Wormhole catalog, along with remixes from some of the best in the industry, on his CLR label. This has also given Adam the opportunity for further releases and re-releases on labels as Adam-X. Another notable addition is Steve Rachmad, which may be his first appearance at the actual festival, though he straight rocked an afterparty quite a few years back (which also happened to be his first performance in the US).

I believe the aforementioned additions as well as: 69 (Carl Craig) – live, Claude Young, Loco Dice, and Kero – live are really shaping Movement 2011 into a great festival lineup. These new 29 acts are of course in addition to the initial lineup including Cio D’Or, Marcel Dettman, Scuba and more.

For those of you who voiced your opinion on Movement’s lackluster lineup as compared to Ultra or Electric Zoo, maybe the chosen mainstage headliners like international success Fatboy Slim or two-time Grammy Award Nominee Felix Da Housecat are commercial enough for you to spend money on.

Other performs that may bring heads into the festival include: DJ Harvey, Dubfire, Gaslamp Killer, Ramadanman, Goldie, Soulclap, and Sven Väth.


The entire list of 29 new acts announced for Movement (DEMF) 2011:

• 69 (Carl Craig) – live
• Al Ester
• Beardyman – live
• Ben Klock
• Claude Young
• DJ Harvey
• Dr. Atmo
• DTM 5×5 (DJ Seoul, T.Linder, Neil V, Darkcube, DJ Psycho)
• Dubfire
• Elliot Lipp – live
• Fatboy Slim
• Felix Da Housecat
• Franki Juncaj aka DJ 3000
• Gaslamp Killer
• Guti – live
• Hudson Mohawke – live
• James Zabiela
• Kero – live
• Livio & Roby
• Loco Dice
• Martin Buttrich – live
• Matt Clarke
• Metro Area
• Mike Servito
• Pulshar – live
• Ramadanman
• Ryan Elliott
• Steve Rachmad
• Traversable Wormhole aka Adam X – live

In addition to the initial Movement 2011 Lineup:

Ana Sia
Art Department
Bruce Bailey
Cio D’Or
Dam-Funk & Master Blazter (live)
DJ T-1000
Echospace (live)
Green Velvet (live)
Kerri Chandler
Marcel Dettman
Shlomi Aber
Skrillex (live)
Soul Clap
Sven Väth
Visionquest (live / DJ)

2 thoughts on “DEMF 2011: Movement Detroit Electronic Music Festival Adds to Lineup”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *