Movement Detroit 2016 Lineup: 10 Year Anniversary

movement 2016

Movement Detroit 2016: Movement again returns for 2016. Paxahau will again be throwing Detroit’s electronic music festival for three days over Memorial Day weekend, Saturday May 28th, Sunday May 29th, and Monday May 30th, with plenty of after-hours activities during the weekend as well.

Update: Movement 2016 Schedule announced


Update 3/17/2016:

Movement 2016 Lineup Phase 2 Announced; 64 more performances added. Notable additions: Modeselektor – live, Len Faki, Tin Man, Claude YoungKyle Hall, Matthew Dear, DJ FunkJay DenhamEctomorph – liveJoseph Capriati, and Mike Servito b2b Derek Plaslaiko.

Headliners for the Main Stage include: Kraftwerk 3-D, Modeselecktor – live and Dubfire:live HYBRID.


Update 1/20/2016:

Movement 2016 Lineup Phase 1 Announced. The big announcement, the first ever performance of Kraftwerk 3-D. Other notable performers: Scuba, Seth Troxler, Adam BeyerDubfire:Live HYBRID, Four Tet, The Black Madonna, Mike Huckaby, Richie Hawtin, Magda, Marc Houle – live, Nina Kraviz, Ellen Allien, Kyle Geiger, Project 313 – live, Carl Craig, Maceo Plex, Andrei Morant, and Loco Dice.

(See Below for most current Movement performers)

There have been rumblings about moving the festival from it’s home site to another location to accommodate growth, but it seems at least for 2016, Movement will again be held in Hart Plaza, Downtown Detroit.

One thing to note is the fact that Movement will be celebrating its 10 year anniversary for the 2016 festival (2006-2016). This timeframe is of course once the current promoter, Paxahau, took control over previous versions of the Detroit electronic music festival. The annual gathering has always been held in Hart Plaza yet has changed names several times, most affectionately known as DEMF during the early years prior to Paxahau’s association.

Movement tickets started selling earlier than ever in 2015 having already run through the early bird discounts for both VIP and GA and the first wave of VIP. Currently the General Admission Weekend is available at $135 and the VIP Weekend 2nd Wave for $300. VIPs will more than likely sell out at some point this year as recent years past.

Due to some unfortunate issues for Movement 2015 involving extremely long lines and waits to enter, Paxahau has released the following changes:

  • Earlier wristband distribution to reduce will call demand.
  • Expanded box office hours – the box office will be open on the Friday before the festival and early on Saturday for wristband redemption and purchase.
  • The Main box office entrance will have a completely separate location from the VIP box office.
  • We will increase box office capacity and will expand all entry gate staffing in the early hours of the opening day

New for Movement 2016: In addition to Kraftwerk, Dan Snaith’s Caribou will also make his Movement debut, as will Four Tet, Âme (DJ set) and The Black Madonna, among others.

Legendary Chicago DJ, producer and creator of Acid House (as part of Phuture), DJ Pierre joins the Acid Stage showcase lineup – a celebration of the genre’s pioneers and rising stars, featuring German electronic powerhouse Boys Noize and festival veteran, Nina Kraviz. Full Acid Stage lineup will be announced soon.

In addition to the new Acid Stage, hometown favorites and acclaimed local artists for Visionquest’s Five-year Anniversary will include performances by Shaun Reeves, Ryan Crosson and Lee Curtiss. Carl Craig will also see the return of his Detroit Love showcase and Kevin Saunderson is set to bring back his ORIGINS showcase for its third consecutive year.

Detroit-based collective Interdimensional Transmissions will have a showcase to celebrate its 21-year anniversary with a headlining performance by Claude Young as well as a new all-hardware, all-analog live show by Ectomorph (label founder Brendan M. Gillen and Erika).

Stay tuned for further Movement Lineup announcements, Movement after parties, and the full Movement 2016 schedule.

Movement 2016 Lineup

Movement 2016 Phase 1 Lineup

  • Adam Beyer
  • Âme – DJ set
  • Andrei Morant
  • Anja Schneider
  • Art Department
  • Boys Noize
  • Bruce Bailey
  • Caribou
  • Carl Craig
  • Chris Liebing
  • Davide Squillace
  • Delano Smith
  • DeWalta & Shannon – live
  • DJ Pierre
  • DJ Tennis
  • Eddie Fowlkes
  • Ellen Allien
  • Four Tet
  • Get Real: Green Velvet & Claude VonStroke
  • Guti – live
  • Guy Gerber
  • Heidi
  • Hito
  • Honey Soundsystem
  • J.Phlip
  • Job Jobse
  • John Digweed
  • Juan Atkins and Moritz von Oswald Present: Borderland
  • Justin Martin
  • Kraftwerk – 3–D
  • Kevin Saunderson
  • Kyle Geiger
  • La Fleur
  • Lee Curtiss
  • Loco Dice
  • Maceo Plex
  • Magda
  • Marc Houle – live
  • Matador – live
  • Mike Huckaby
  • Mister Joshooa
  • MK (Marc Kinchen)
  • Nic Fanciulli
  • Nina Kraviz
  • No Regular Play – live
  • Paul Woolford
  • Project 313 – live
  • Richie Hawtin
  • Ryan Crosson
  • Scuba
  • Seth Troxler
  • Shaun Reeves
  • Sonja Moonear
  • Stacey Pullen
  • Tale of Us
  • The Black Madonna
  • tINI
  • Will Sessions feat. Amp Fiddler – live
  • Zip


Movement 2016 Phase 2 Lineup

  • 2AMFM
  • Abbe & Toth
  • Al Ester
  • Alex Metric
  • Art Payne & Keith Martin
  • Barem
  • Big Freedia
  • Bixel Boys
  • Bjarki – live
  • Brian Gillespie
  • Calico
  • Carlos Souffront
  • Chuck Daniels
  • Claude Young
  • DâM-FunK (DJ set)
  • Dilemma
  • DJ Funk
  • DJ Godfather
  • DJ Seoul
  • Dub Phizix & MC Strategy
  • Ectomorph – live
  • Eddie C
  • FIT Siegel
  • Gay Marvine
  • Israel Vines – live
  • Jared Wilson
  • Jay Denham
  • Jeff Risk
  • Joseph Capriati
  • Josh Pan
  • Kenny Dope
  • Kill the Noise
  • Kyle Hall
  • Laceration Selekta
  • Len Faki
  • Loren
  • Mark 8en Moss
  • Marshall Applewhite
  • Matthew Dear
  • MC Bombscare
  • Mija
  • Mike Servito b2b Derek Plaslaiko
  • Modeselektor – live
  • Niko Marks
  • Patrick Russell
  • Pontchartrain
  • Rebecca Goldberg
  • Rezz
  • Rickers
  • Ryan McCray
  • RZA feat. Stone Mecca
  • Scott Zacharias
  • Shady P
  • Sliink
  • Stacey “Hotwaxx” Hale
  • Stone Owl – live
  • The Friend
  • The Saunderson Brothers
  • Tiga
  • Tin Man
  • Vindata
  • What So Not
  • Wheez-ie
  • ZelooperZ

Movement Detroit 2016 Lineup

3 thoughts on “Movement Detroit 2016 Lineup: 10 Year Anniversary”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *